The Sojourner Truth Project - Brooklyn Public Library, central branch

Date: 03/10/13
Hours: 1:30pm
Ages: TW,TE,AD
10 Grand Army Plaza - 718-230-2100
Prospect Heights, NY 11238

Description: Composer and bassist Avery Sharpe celebrates the life and work of African American abolitionist and woman's rights activist Sojourner Truth through compositions based on her life and the famous speech she made for women's suffrage in 1851 (later titled "Ain't I a Woman"). Mr. Sharpe stands at the heart of a jazz sextet featuring Onaje Allan Gumbs, piano; Yoron Israel, drums; Jimmy Greene, saxophone; Duane Eubanks, trumpet; and Jeri Brown, vocals. Sharpe is Sterling Brown '22 Distinguished Visiting Artist in Residence in Music, at Williams College.