The Enchanted Piano: Dances for Piano with Electronics, Piano Strings, and Amplified Piano - Manhattan Movement & Arts Center

Date: 10/21/11
Ages: TW,TE,AD
Price: $20; $15 students and seniors
248 W. 60th Street - 212-239-6200
Manhattan, NY 10023

Description: The show features music by major American composers, including Aeolian Harp and Fleeting by Henry Cowell; Eine Kleine Mitternachtmusik by George Crumb; Synchronisms No. 6 by Mario Davidovsky; and Chamber Symphony by Maurice Wright. Performed by five dancers and Eliza Garth, the show utilizes classical, contemporary, and post-modern dance styles. Structure and patterns are plotted with human relationships to change the way the viewer/listener hears the music through the various pieces in this suite.