635 S. Broadway
Tarrytown, NY 10591
Description: For the first time, Lyndhurst is home to an outdoor art exhibition presented within the bare bones of an 18,600-square-foot greenhouse, an historic structure located on the Lyndhurst grounds. Artists were invited to explore the theme of the Scarecrow and look beyond the traditional straw-filled dummy to explore broader themes associated with this figure as human surrogate, decoy, and silent observer. Six artists living and working in NYC, Brooklyn, upstate New York, and New Jersey have been selected for exhibition in Scarecrow. They have created a variety of artworks that respond to the multi-sensory nature of the open-air site and to the unique character of the Greenhouse space. Works included in the exhibition utilize a range of materials from vines and natural plant life, burlap, metal, acrylic, nylon, and digital media. Some artists have responded to the theme by directly referencing the human figure, others have considered the metaphorical and symbolic implications of the scarecrow in works that are more abstract and intangible. The Scarecrow exhibition coincides with the annual "Scarecrow Invasion" at Lyndhurst, a popular Halloween event in which hundreds of scarecrows created largely by children from local school districts are displayed throughout the grounds of the mansion.
Venue Description: Lyndhurst, a historic site of the National Trust, is a must-see for those interested in art and architecture from the past. This 67-acre estate is one of the great domestic landmarks in America and filled with 19th-century architecture, arts, and landscape design. It is located in Tarrytown, not far from Washington Irving's Sunnyside, and you can detect the historic and aesthetic traits that these two venues share. Walk the Croton Aqueduct Trail from Lyndhurst to West Sunnyside Lane (Lyndhurst and Sunnyside will also be linked by a pathway along the riverfront soon) and enjoy kayaking on the river in the warm summer months.
Lyndhurst was originally designed in 1838 in the Gothic Revival style by Alexander Jackson Davis, who also designed most of the furniture and later doubled the size of the estate. Jay Gould, the prototypical robber baron, purchased the property in 1880, added a greenhouse in the Gothic style, and renamed it Lyndhurst. He hired the Herter Brothers to redecorate and they added many paintings that are still present today. Ferdinand Mangold is responsible for the "garden-esque" landscape, which most notably features spectacular specimen trees.
The grounds are open from dusk until dawn every day, with varying prices and hours for the separate buildings. For more information, call 914-631-4481 or visit lyndhurst.org.
Upcoming Events at Lyndhurst: