635 S. Broadway
Tarrytown, NY 10591
Description: With Mother's Day, wedding season, and graduation just around the corner, Crafts at Lyndhurst, a Festival of Fine Craft, Food, and Fun, offers shoppers the chance to find unique gifts for that graduating senior, the bride-to-be, or to show mom just how special she is.
The show includes one-of-a-kind and limited edition jewelry, for mom's luxurious side and to make the bride sparkle; fashion and accessories for her glamorous side; furniture, and home decor pieces, as well as functional and sculptural work in ceramics, glass, metal, painting, photography, wood, and mixed media for the mom who keeps a beautiful home.
More than 275 artists will be displaying and selling their contemporary works. Collectors, art enthusiasts and discerning shoppers will enjoy the rare opportunity to meet these visionary artists and purchase their latest work. Despite its name, the fair offers more than just crafts. Visitors can also eat in the expanded food court, purchase specialty foods, hear live folk music, and participate in children's activities like an interactive, hands-on exhibition of instruments by Todd Crowley.
All-weekend passes are available for $3 more. Convenient free on- and off-site parking available with free shuttle buses directly to ticket booth.
Venue Description: Lyndhurst, a historic site of the National Trust, is a must-see for those interested in art and architecture from the past. This 67-acre estate is one of the great domestic landmarks in America and filled with 19th-century architecture, arts, and landscape design. It is located in Tarrytown, not far from Washington Irving's Sunnyside, and you can detect the historic and aesthetic traits that these two venues share. Walk the Croton Aqueduct Trail from Lyndhurst to West Sunnyside Lane (Lyndhurst and Sunnyside will also be linked by a pathway along the riverfront soon) and enjoy kayaking on the river in the warm summer months.
Lyndhurst was originally designed in 1838 in the Gothic Revival style by Alexander Jackson Davis, who also designed most of the furniture and later doubled the size of the estate. Jay Gould, the prototypical robber baron, purchased the property in 1880, added a greenhouse in the Gothic style, and renamed it Lyndhurst. He hired the Herter Brothers to redecorate and they added many paintings that are still present today. Ferdinand Mangold is responsible for the "garden-esque" landscape, which most notably features spectacular specimen trees.