Select Region
Helping Parents Make Better Decisions

Collegiate Women Sports Awards Announces in New York City that Basketball Player from University of Connecticut, Maya Moore, Makes History by Winning the Honda-Broderick Cup Two Years in a Row

Maya Moore, University of Connecticut basketball star and current forward for the WNBA Minnesota Lynx, has won the Honda-Broderick Cup, designating her as the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year.

The Collegiate Women Sports Awards announced on July 27 that Maya Moore, University of Connecticut basketball star and current forward for the WNBA Minnesota Lynx, has won the Honda-Broderick Cup, designating her as the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. Moore’s history-making win is only the second time in all 35 years of the program that an athlete has won the Honda-Broderick Cup twice (swimmer Tracy Caulkins, 1982 and ’84), and she is the first-ever back-to-back winner. The announcement was made in the Low Library Rotunda at Columbia University in New York City.


The other two “Top Three” finalists for the 2011 award included distance runner Sheila Reid from Villanova University, a two-time Honda Sports Award winner this year (cross country and track & field) and Blair Brown from Penn State University (volleyball).

Moore was selected as the winner of the Honda-Broderick Cup by a voting of nearly 1,000 NCAA member schools and the Board of Directors of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program. Previous winners include: basketball superstar Candace Parker (2008), track and field legend Jackie Joyner-Kersee (1985), soccer great Mia Hamm (1994), and volleyball star Misty May (1999). Last year, Maya shared the award in a rare tie with Penn State volleyball player Megan Hodge.

All About Moore:

Moore was the #1 draft pick for the WNBA this year. She was born in Jefferson City, Missouri, and grew up in Lawrenceville, Georgia. She was a Honda Sports Award nominee in all four years of her college career. Maya led her team to four Final Four appearances, two national titles and a 150-4 record. She is the fourth-leading scorer in NCAA history, with 3,036 points. Honored as the Capital One University Division Academic All-American of the Year and BIG EAST Scholar-Athlete of the Year in 2010 and 2011, Moore was also selected as a CoSIDA Academic All-American in 2009. A three-time WBCA Wade Trophy honoree and four-time WBCA State Farm First Team All-American, she won the Naismith Trophy, the Associated Press Player of the Year Award and the USBWA Player of the Year Award in 2009 and 2011. She was also the John R. Wooden Award honoree in 2009 and 2011.

Moore is one of only two players to earn AP First Team All-America status in each of her four years in college. She is the winner of the 2010-11 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award for women’s basketball, was honored as the Most Outstanding Player of the 2010 NCAA Tournament and voted Most Outstanding Player of the Philadelphia Regional (2011), the Dayton Regional (2010) and the Trenton Regional (2009). She was also named BIG EAST Player of the Year in 2008, 2009 and 2011 and the 2009 and 2011 BIG EAST Tournament Most Outstanding Player. Moore finished her college career with 50 double-doubles and registered double-figure points in an NCAA record 149 games.

A student athlete whose academic prowess matches her outstanding achievement on the basketball court, Moore holds a 3.669 GPA in sports media and promotion. She is the winner of the NCAA Elite 88 Award for achieving the highest GPA of all student-athletes competing in the Final Four.

And the runners up are...

In addition to the “Top Three,” other 2011 individual Honda Sports Award winners include: University of Florida’s Kelsey Bruder (softball), Notre Dame’s Melissa Henderson (soccer), the University of Alabama’s Kayla Hoffman (gymnastics), the University of Southern California’s Katinka Hosszu (swimming & diving), University of California, Berkeley’s Jana Juricova (tennis), the University of Maryland’s Katie O’Donnell (field hockey), Northwestern University’s Shannon Smith (lacrosse)and the University of Georgia’s Marta Silva Zamora (golf).

The New York awards ceremony was hosted by ESPN SportsCenter’s Sage Steele and was also attended by former Columbia University swimmer Cristina Teuscher, winner of the 2000 Honda-Broderick Cup and Olympic Gold Medalist.

Article compliments of Business Wire.

See Also:

JCC Juniors Bring Home Gold from Maccabi Games

When Children Choose an Opposite-Sex Dominated Sport: Advice for Parents

Want more content like this? Receive our Scoop packed with great ideas

Related Articles:

Featured Listings:

Chelsea Piers New York

Chelsea Piers New York

NYC, NY Need a place to play? Chelsea Piers is NYC’s most popular destination to learn, practice, play and compete in 25+ different sports. The 28-acre sports...

Great Play of Syosset

Great Play of Syosset

Syosset, New York Our mission is for every child to develop a love of physical activity that will lead to an active, healthy and confident life. Starting with our Great...

Be The Best Sport

Be The Best Sport

Port Washington, NY Be The Best Sport is 501(c)(3) adaptive sports program for children who have intellectual disabilities as well as physical impairments. At Be The Bes...



Rye, NY At the Rye Y, we nurture the potential of every child, by cultivating the values, skills and relationships that lead to positive behaviors, better hea...