Select Region
Helping Parents Make Better Decisions
Here's What the 2021-2022 NYC Public School Year Will Look Like

Here's What the 2021-2022 NYC Public School Year Will Look Like

Here's everything you need to know about NYC's 2021-2022 public school calendar.


If your child attends a New York City public school, bookmark this page for everything you need to know about the 2021-2022 public school year, including the NYC Department of Education School Year Calendar. Mayor Bill de Blasio said earlier this year that the plan is to have schools open at 100 percent by Sept. 2021.

2021-2022 NYC Public School Calendar

The 2021-2022 NYC public school calendar notes that on "snow days," or when school buildings are closed due to an emergency all students should plan to participate in remote learning. 

  • Monday, Sept. 13: First day of school for students
  • Thursday, Sept. 16: Yom Kippur, schools closed
  • Monday, Oct. 11: Indigenous People's Day, schools closed
  • Tuesday, Nov. 2: Election Day, fully remote, asynchronous instructional day
  • Wednesday, Nov. 3: Evening parent-teacher conferences for elementary schools and K-8 schools
  • Thursday, Nov. 4: Afternoon parent-teacher conferences for elementary schools and K-8 schools; students in these schools are dismissed three hours early
  • Wednesday, Nov. 10: Evening parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools
  • Thursday, Nov. 11: Veterans Day, schools closed
  • Friday, Nov. 12: Afternoon parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools; students in these schools dismissed three hours early
  • Wednesday, Nov. 17: Evening parent-teacher conferences for middle schools and District 75 school programs
  • Thursday, Nov. 18: Afternoon Conferences for middle schools and District 75 school programs; students in these schools dismissed three hours early
  • Thursday-Friday, Nov. 25-26: Thanksgiving Recess, schools closed
  • Friday-Friday, Dec. 24-31: Winter Recess, schools closed
  • Monday, Jan. 17: Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day, schools closed
  • Tuesday-Friday, Jan. 25-28: Regents Administration
  • Monday, Jan. 31: Professional Development day for 9–12 and 6–12 schools, students in these schools do not attend
  • Tuesday, Feb. 1: Lunar New Year, schools closed
  • Wednesday, Feb. 2: Spring Term begins for semester-based schools
  • Monday-Friday, Feb 21-25: Midwinter Recess, schools closed
  • Wednesday, March 2: Evening parent-teacher conferences for elementary schools and K–8 schools
  • Thursday, March 3: Afternoon parent-teacher conferences for elementary schools and K–8 schools; students in these schools dismissed three hours early
  • Wednesday, March 9: Evening parent-teacher conferences for middle schools and district 75 schools and programs 
  • Thursday, March 10: Afternoon parent-teacher conferences for middle schools and district 75 schools and programs; students in these schools dismissed three hours early
  • Wednesday, March 16: Evening parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools
  • Friday, March 18: Afternoon parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools; students in these schools dismissed three hours early
  • Tuesday, Thursday, March 29-31: 3-8 ELA Assessment administration
  • Friday-Friday, April 15-22: Spring Recess (includes Good Friday and Passover), schools closed
  • Tuesday-Thursday, April 26-28: 3-8 Math Assessment Administration
  • Monday, May 2: Eid al-Fitr, schools closed
  • Monday, May 30: Memorial Day, schools closed
  • Tuesday, June 7: Clerical Day, K–5, K–6, 6–8, and K–12 schools and D75 programs, students in these schools do not attend
  • Thursday, June 9: Anniversary Day, Chancellor’s Conference Day for staff development, students do not attend
  • Wednesday-Friday, June 15-24: Regents Administration
  • Monday, June 20: Juneteenth (observed), schools closed
  • Monday, June 27: Last day of school for students

 



 


Want more content like this? Get Great Family Activities!


More News Articles:

Latest News:

Family Activities:

NYC City Lights Cruise at Event Cruises NYC, Pier 36 (NY)

NYC City Lights Cruise

Event Cruises NYC, Pier 36 (NY) May. 30, 2021 - May. 02, 2021

Take the City Lights Cruise to see the awesome harbor lights and take in a spectacular New Y...

Have a Laugh:


Featured Listings:

Lice Clinics of America - Long Island

Lice Clinics of America - Long Island

Syosset, NY Lice Clinics of America Long Island ends the nightmare of lice by dehydrating lice and their eggs in one single 60 minute lice removal treatment. Our ...

A-Game Sports

A-Game Sports

New Rochelle, NY A-Game Sports was founded in 2013 by two guys who decided that it was time to do what they truly love in life. Since then, A-Game Sports has made the ...

JCC of Mid-Westchester

JCC of Mid-Westchester

Scarsdale, NY The Jewish Community Center of Mid-Westchester is a nonprofit organization dedicated to enriching the community by providing cultural, social, educati...

Smart Start Early Learning Center

Smart Start Early Learning Center

Brooklyn, NY While providing a safe, warm and nurturing environment, our staff addresses the social, emotional and physical needs of children. Through thematic uni...