Select Region
Follow us!
Discover 100+ Things to Do This Fall - Read the Guide Today!

Here's What the 2021-2022 NYC Public School Year Will Look Like

Here's What the 2021-2022 NYC Public School Year Will Look Like

Here's everything you need to know about NYC's 2021-2022 public school calendar.


If your child attends a New York City public school, bookmark this page for everything you need to know about the 2021-2022 public school year, including the NYC Department of Education School Year Calendar. Mayor Bill de Blasio said earlier this year that the plan is to have schools open at 100 percent by Sept. 2021.

Wondering what the school year will look like this year in terms of masking and other COVID safety protocols? Read everything we know about the NYC school reopening plan. And if you're searching ways to keep your kids entertained after school, you'll find plenty of after-school activities in our area in this guide. But if you want to have fun as a family, check out the best places to go apple picking, pumpkin picking, or mini golfing, or browse the calendar for more family activities.

2021-2022 NYC Public School Calendar

The 2021-2022 NYC public school calendar notes that on "snow days," or when school buildings are closed due to an emergency all students should plan to participate in remote learning. 

  • Monday, Sept. 13: First day of school for students
  • Thursday, Sept. 16: Yom Kippur, schools closed
  • Monday, Oct. 11: Indigenous People's Day, schools closed
  • Tuesday, Nov. 2: Election Day, fully remote, asynchronous instructional day
  • Wednesday, Nov. 3: Evening parent-teacher conferences for elementary schools and K-8 schools
  • Thursday, Nov. 4: Afternoon parent-teacher conferences for elementary schools and K-8 schools; students in these schools are dismissed three hours early
  • Wednesday, Nov. 10: Evening parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools
  • Thursday, Nov. 11: Veterans Day, schools closed
  • Friday, Nov. 12: Afternoon parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools; students in these schools dismissed three hours early
  • Wednesday, Nov. 17: Evening parent-teacher conferences for middle schools and District 75 school programs
  • Thursday, Nov. 18: Afternoon Conferences for middle schools and District 75 school programs; students in these schools dismissed three hours early
  • Thursday-Friday, Nov. 25-26: Thanksgiving Recess, schools closed
  • Friday-Friday, Dec. 24-31: Winter Recess, schools closed
  • Monday, Jan. 17: Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day, schools closed
  • Tuesday-Friday, Jan. 25-28: Regents Administration
  • Monday, Jan. 31: Professional Development day for 9–12 and 6–12 schools, students in these schools do not attend
  • Tuesday, Feb. 1: Lunar New Year, schools closed
  • Wednesday, Feb. 2: Spring Term begins for semester-based schools
  • Monday-Friday, Feb 21-25: Midwinter Recess, schools closed
  • Wednesday, March 2: Evening parent-teacher conferences for elementary schools and K–8 schools
  • Thursday, March 3: Afternoon parent-teacher conferences for elementary schools and K–8 schools; students in these schools dismissed three hours early
  • Wednesday, March 9: Evening parent-teacher conferences for middle schools and district 75 schools and programs 
  • Thursday, March 10: Afternoon parent-teacher conferences for middle schools and district 75 schools and programs; students in these schools dismissed three hours early
  • Wednesday, March 16: Evening parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools
  • Friday, March 18: Afternoon parent-teacher conferences for high schools, K–12, and 6–12 schools; students in these schools dismissed three hours early
  • Tuesday, Thursday, March 29-31: 3-8 ELA Assessment administration
  • Friday-Friday, April 15-22: Spring Recess (includes Good Friday and Passover), schools closed
  • Tuesday-Thursday, April 26-28: 3-8 Math Assessment Administration
  • Monday, May 2: Eid al-Fitr, schools closed
  • Monday, May 30: Memorial Day, schools closed
  • Tuesday, June 7: Clerical Day, K–5, K–6, 6–8, and K–12 schools and D75 programs, students in these schools do not attend
  • Thursday, June 9: Anniversary Day, Chancellor’s Conference Day for staff development, students do not attend
  • Wednesday-Friday, June 15-24: Regents Administration
  • Monday, June 20: Juneteenth (observed), schools closed
  • Monday, June 27: Last day of school for students

Want great ideas for things to do with your kids when school's closed? Get the Scoop, our weekly newsletter full of family activities!




Want more content like this?


More News Articles:

NYC Schools Chancellor Richard Carranza is Stepping Down

NYC Schools Chancellor Richard Carranza will resign and will be replaced by the first-ever Black woman chancellor, Meisha Porter, a Queens native.


Latest News:

LuminoCity Festival of Holiday Lights is Coming to Manhasset Nov. 12

LuminoCity Holiday Lights Festival is returning for the 2021 season on Nov. 12 and will be on display through Jan. 9, 2022.


Family Activities:

From Simple Shapes to Skyscrapers II

The Skyscraper Museum Oct. 16, 2021

Take a deep dive into the floor plans and facades of supertall skyscrapers and find their hidden shapes and geometries! 



Have a Laugh:

Best Memes of the Week for Parents

Here are the funniest parenting memes from Instagram, Facebook, and Reddit this week.

Featured Listings:

ABC Cakes

ABC Cakes

Mamaroneck, NY ABC Cakes specializes in custom cakes, as well as children's parties. Kids will be able to decorate and take their own cakes home. We love to see the ...

Child Behavior Consulting, LLC

Child Behavior Consulting, LLC

Child Behavior Consulting (CBC) specializes in turning, “I can’t” into “I CAN!” when working with children who have ADHD, executive functioning delays...

Northwell Health Ice Center

Northwell Health Ice Center

East Meadow, Northwell Health Ice Center, the coolest place on Long Island, is the premier hockey and skating destination and official practice facility of the New...

Kids Country Day Camp

Kids Country Day Camp

Mount Sinai, NY Kids Country Day Camp is a sports, adventure, and recreational day camp for children 3 - 12 years of age. We are located on 10 beautiful acres in the ...